The Governing Committee sets policy and oversees managing WCIRB affairs. The Governing Committee is comprised of eight insurer members (seven private insurers and State Compensation Insurance Fund) and four public members (two representing insured employers and two representing organized labor). With the exception of State Compensation Insurance Fund, insurer committee members are elected for three-year terms by all WCIRB member insurers at the Annual Meeting, while public committee members are appointed for two-year terms by the Insurance Commissioner. By statute, State Compensation Insurance Fund is a permanent member of the Governing Committee. The Insurance Commissioner, or the Insurance Commissioner's designated representative(s), is entitled to attend all meetings of the Governing Committee. Generally, the Governing Committee meets once per quarter, but may meet more frequently if necessary.

Current Insurer Members

Everest National Insurance Company
Federal Insurance Company
Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company
Pacific Compensation Insurance Company
Preferred Employers Insurance Company
State Compensation Insurance Fund
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America
Zenith Insurance Company

Current Public Members

Lynne Davidson, Employer Representative
Jeremy Smith, Labor Representative
Mitch Steiger, Labor Representative

Scheduled Meetings

Meeting dates of the Governing Committee are shown below.

  • Thursday, February 8, 2024
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2024
  • Wednesday, September 25, 2024    
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2024

Committee Meeting Documents

View agendas, minutes and other materials related to the Governing Committee meetings at the bottom of the Committee and Working Groups page.