WCIRB Bulletin

Bulletin No. 2024-16 November 13, 2024

1901 Harrison Street, 17th Floor • Oakland, CA 94612 • 415.777.0777 • Fax 415.778.7007 • www.wcirb.com • wcirb@wcirb.com

2025 Nominations for the Governing and Classification and Rating Committees

The Annual Meeting of the WCIRB will be held via teleconference on March 19, 2025 at 9:00 AM. At this meeting, WCIRB members will elect representatives to the Governing and Classification and Rating Committees to succeed those members whose terms are expiring at the time of the Annual Meeting. The official notice for the Annual Meeting will be issued in February. The Governing Committee has appointed a Nominating Committee to solicit, consider and select a slate of nominees to be presented to the membership at the Annual Meeting. The Nominating Committee is comprised of the following:

Member

Federal Insurance Company WCF National Insurance Company Greenwich Insurance Company Travelers Property Casualty Company of America Zenith Insurance Company

Represented by

Mary Beth Pittinger (Chair) Ann Boyd Shawn Lutz Bill Traver Sarah Elston

Governing Committee

Listed below are the current Governing Committee members. There are two open positions as the terms of Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company and Preferred Employers Insurance Company will expire in 2025.

Member	Representative	Term Expires
Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company	Melissa Zaparanick	2025
Preferred Employers Insurance Company	Akbar Khan	2025
Everest National Insurance Company	Joseph Wells	2026
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America	Bill Traver	2026
Federal Insurance Company	Mary Beth Pittinger	2027
Pacific Compensation Insurance Company	John Carey	2027
Zenith Insurance Company	Paul Ramont	2027
State Compensation Insurance Fund	Vernon Steiner	Permanent

Classification and Rating Committee

Listed below are the current Classification and Rating Committee members. There are two open positions as the terms of National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh PA and Travelers Property Casualty Company of America will expire in 2025.



Bulletin No. 2024-16 November 13, 2024

Member	Representative	Term Expires
National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburg PA	Sara VanWyk	2025
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America	Peter Gunn	2025
Truck Insurance Exchange	Jennifer Fortin	2026
Zenith Insurance Company	Sarah Elston	2026
Preferred Employers Insurance Company	Christine Glynn	2027
Security National Insurance Company	Matt Zender	2027
State Compensation Insurance Fund	Gregory Hanel	Permanent

The Nominating Committee is now soliciting members' recommendations for candidates to serve on the above Committees. The new Committee members will serve three-year terms that expire at the time of the Annual Meeting in 2028.

Nominations must be received by January 24, 2025.

Following receipt of member recommendations, the Nominating Committee will agree on a slate of candidates that will be presented to the membership and voted upon at the WCIRB's Annual Meeting. In consideration of recommendations for these important Committees, please bear in mind the following objectives of the Nominating Committee:

- 1. There shall be a breadth of representatives from companies of various sizes, market shares, types of organizations, marketing methods, and regional and national interest.
- 2. The Nominating Committee shall satisfy itself that the nominated companies will furnish qualified representatives who are committed to serve and prepared to communicate with and represent the members to the WCIRB. With respect to serving on the Governing Committee, the Nominating Committee is seeking senior management company representatives. With respect to the Classification and Rating Committee, the Nominating Committee is seeking management representatives with California workers' compensation insurance underwriting experience.
- 3. The Governing Committee normally meets four to five times a year. The Classification and Rating Committee normally meets four to five times a year.

Please send all proposed nominations to Dennis Levesque, Nominating Committee Chair, and/or Kristen Marsh, WCIRB Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer. Contact information for all members of the Nominating Committee is shown below.

Mary Beth Pittinger

Executive Vice President, Workers Compensation Federal Insurance Company, Chubb Commercial Insurance

mpittinger@chubb.com

Ann Boyd

Director, Underwriting

WCF National Insurance Company

aboyd@wcf.com

William C. Traver

Vice President Product Business Insurance Travelers Property Casualty Company of America

wtraver@travelers.com

Kristen Marsh Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer WCIRB California

kmarsh@wcirb.com

Sarah Elston

Vice President, Corporate Underwriting

Zenith Insurance Company

selston@thezenith.com

Shawn Lutz

Vice President, Regulatory Operations

Greenwich Insurance Company, AXA Insurance

Group

Shawn.Lutz@axaxl.com