WCIRB Bulletin

Bulletin No. 2023-13

November 15, 2023

1901 Harrison Street, 17th Floor • Oakland, CA 94612 • 415.777.0777 • Fax 415.778.7007 • www.wcirb.com • wcirb@wcirb.com

2024 Nominations for the Governing and Classification and Rating Committees

The Annual Meeting of the WCIRB will be held via teleconference on March 12, 2024 at 9:00 AM. At this meeting, WCIRB members will elect representatives to the Governing and Classification and Rating Committees to succeed those members whose terms are expiring at the time of the Annual Meeting. The official notice for the Annual Meeting will be issued in February. The Governing Committee has appointed a Nominating Committee to solicit, consider and select a slate of nominees to be presented to the membership at the Annual Meeting. The Nominating Committee is comprised of the following:

Member

Preferred Employers Insurance Company CNA Insurance Company Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company Republic Indemnity Company Travelers Property Casualty Company of America

Represented by

Dennis Levesque (Chair) Chris Thurman Melissa Zaparanick Sean Pepper Tony Panetti

Governing Committee

Listed below are the current Governing Committee members. There are three open positions as the terms of Federal Insurance Company, Pacific Compensation Insurance Company and Zenith Insurance Company will expire in 2024.

Member	Representative	Term Expires
Federal Insurance Company	Mary Beth Pittinger	2024
Pacific Compensation Insurance Company	John Carey	2024
Zenith Insurance Company	Paul Ramont	2024
Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company	Melissa Zaparanick	2025
Preferred Employers Insurance Company	Dennis Levesque	2025
Everest National Insurance Company	Joseph Wells	2026
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America	Eric Belk	2026
State Compensation Insurance Fund	Vernon Steiner	Permanent

Classification and Rating Committee

Listed below are the current Classification and Rating Committee members. There are two open positions as the terms of Preferred Employers Insurance Company and Security National Insurance Company will expire in 2024.



Member	Representative	Term Expires
Preferred Employers Insurance Company	Christine Glynn	2024
Security National Insurance Company	Matt Zender	2024
National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburg PA	Ellen Sonkin	2025
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America	Tony Panetti	2025
Truck Insurance Exchange	Jennifer Fortin	2026
Zenith Insurance Company	Sarah Elston	2026
State Compensation Insurance Fund	Gregory Hanel	Permanent

The Nominating Committee is now soliciting members' recommendations for candidates to serve on the above Committees. The new Committee members will serve three-year terms that expire at the time of the Annual Meeting in 2027.

Nominations must be received by January 26, 2024.

Following receipt of member recommendations, the Nominating Committee will agree on a slate of candidates that will be presented to the membership and voted upon at the WCIRB's Annual Meeting. In consideration of recommendations for these important Committees, please bear in mind the following objectives of the Nominating Committee:

- 1. There shall be a breadth of representatives from companies of various sizes, market shares, types of organizations, marketing methods, and regional and national interest.
- 2. The Nominating Committee shall satisfy itself that the nominated companies will furnish qualified representatives who are committed to serve and prepared to communicate with and represent the members to the WCIRB. With respect to serving on the Governing Committee, the Nominating Committee is seeking senior management company representatives. With respect to the Classification and Rating Committee, the Nominating Committee is seeking management representatives with California workers' compensation insurance underwriting experience.
- 3. The Governing Committee normally meets four to five times a year. The Classification and Rating Committee normally meets four to five times a year.

Please send all proposed nominations to Dennis Levesque, Nominating Committee Chair, and/or Kristen Marsh, WCIRB Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer. Contact information for all members of the Nominating Committee is shown below.

Dennis Levesque President Preferred Employers Insurance Company <u>dlevesque@peiwc.com</u>

Melissa Zaparanick Head of Workers Compensation – Middle & Large Commercial Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company melissa.zaparanick@thehartford.com

Sean Pepper Senior Vice President, Home Office Underwriting Republic Indemnity Company <u>spepper@ri-net.com</u> Kristen Marsh Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer WCIRB California kmarsh@wcirb.com

Tony Panetti Assistant Vice President Travelers Property Casualty Company of America tpanetti@travelers.com

Chris Thurman Senior Vice President, Workers' Compensation & Commercial Auto Underwriting CNA Insurance Company <u>christopher.thurman@cna.com</u>